Officials: JTT

Jessica Thiedemann Memorial Scholarship

Our fall training tournament is named in loving memory of Jessica Thiedemann. Jessica was a full time university student and a hard working referee with exceptional enthusiasm, and a passion for helping young referees grow. She was dedicated to Calgary Minor Basketball and always maintained a positive attitude on and off the court. She was actively involved in training clinics, and always strived to be the best she could possibly be. These traits continue to be an inspiration to all who knew her.

In honour and memory of Jessica, her parents established a bursary to support Calgary Minor Basketball Officials.  The Jessica Thiedemann Bursary is awarded to a referee in post secondary school who, in the opinion of the Referees' Leadership Committee, best exhibits the traits which Jessica displayed herself. The recipient of this bursary will be a dedicated referee who is currently enrolled in a post-secondary program, and exhibits the qualities listed below.

If you are enrolled, as of September of the current year, in a post-secondary program, and you would like to be considered for this award, please complete the online application. The Committee will then consider all such applications, as well as others we feel are deserving of consideration, and set up interviews for the top candidates during the fall training sessions.


Go to Scholarship Application


The specific criteria are as follows.

  • Education - Currently enrolled in full-time post secondary education program
  • Attitude - Positive attitude about the game & during the games
  • Clinics - Participates in training clinics
  • # of Games - Refs frequently. Helps out assignor when refs are in short supply
  • Progression - Progressing well in reffing ability
  • Mentor - Helps younger officials
  • Committee - Involved in the committee
  • Disposition - Enthusiastic, cheerful


2020 Recipient

Celeste Holy

Celeste Holy

Read more about Celeste at


Past Recipients

Justin Bechthold: 2008 Mitch Turgeon: 2009 Laura Olson: 2010
Dennis Ellison: 2011 Hayley Adams: 2012 Brittney Walchuk: 2013
Adam Boyes: 2014 Ashleigh Burge: 2015 Sarah Lee: 2016
Zachary Udoumoren: 2017 David Falkenberg: 2018 Ginelle Mah: 2019 

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information